Link to the University of Pittsburgh
Link to the University Library SystemContact us link
AEI Banner

Report from the Commission to the Council on regional co-operation in Europe. COM (97) 659 final, 1 February 1997.

UNSPECIFIED (1997) Report from the Commission to the Council on regional co-operation in Europe. COM (97) 659 final, 1 February 1997. [EU Commission - COM Document]

PDF - Published Version
Download (1827Kb) | Preview


    Annex I contains documents exploring the following: Balkan Conference on Stability, Security, and Co-operation in South Eastern Europe Participants: Description; Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Greece, Romania, Turkey. The Council of Baltic Sea States, CBSS, is a forum for co-operation between four EU member states (Germany, Denmark, Finland and Sweden), four associated countries (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland) together with Russia as well as with Norway and Iceland. The aim of the Barents Euro-Arctic Council (BEAC) is to promote sustainable development in the Barents Euro-Arctic region situated in the extreme north of Europe on the borders of Norway, Sweden, Finland and the Russian Federation. The Central European Initiative (CEI) groups sixteen countries together: two are EU Member States (Austria and Italy), several have concluded Europe Agreements (Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia)-three have concluded Partnership and Co-operation Agreements (Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine); two have concluded agreements on Trade, Commercial and Economic matters (Albania and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia). Bosnia and Herzegovina and Croatia also participate in the CEI. The Black Sea Economic Co-operation (BSEC) was created in 1992 with the aim of promoting economic co-operation in the Black Sea region and facilitating the integration of participant states into the world economy. Participants in this primarily economic forum are: the Black Sea littoral states (Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania, Russia, Turkey, and Ukraine), as well as Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Greece, and Moldova. Conference on Stability, Security and Co-operation in South East Europe. This process, originally launched before 1989, foundered with the break-up of the former Yugoslavia and was relaunched in 1996 with eight countries of the region. Process for Stability and Good Neighbourliness in South East Europe, known as the Royaumont Process. The Southeast Europe Co-operative Initiative (SECI), launched by the US in December 1996, aims to promote stability through regional co-operation in the economic and environment fields.

    Export/Citation:EndNote | BibTeX | Dublin Core | ASCII (Chicago style) | HTML Citation | OpenURL
    Social Networking:
    Item Type: EU Commission - COM Document
    Subjects for non-EU documents: UNSPECIFIED
    Subjects for EU documents: Regional & Structural Policy > General
    Enlargement > 6th - Baltic, Central and East Europe, Cyprus and Malta
    Enlargement > 7th-Bulgaria, Romania
    Enlargement > 8th-Croatia
    Enlargement > Post 2013 Enlargements
    EU Series and Periodicals: UNSPECIFIED
    EU Annual Reports: UNSPECIFIED
    EU Document Number: COM (97) 659 final
    Institutional Author: European Union, November 1993 to date > Commission
    Depositing User: Barbara Sloan
    Official EU Document: Yes
    Language: English
    Date Deposited: 13 Dec 2005
    Number of Pages: 23
    Last Modified: 07 May 2019 14:45

    Actions (login required)

    View Item

    Document Downloads