All Cyri

European Communities

4420

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

Working Documents

1977 - 1978

16 September 1977

DOCUMENT 277/77

LETTER

from the Council of the European Communities

concerning the appointment of members of the Court of Auditors of the European Communities

0.2.1

English Edition

,

. .

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

THE PRESIDENT

Brussels 12th September 1977

Mr Emilio COLOMBO

President of the European Parliament Case Postale 1601 LUXEMBOURG

Sir,

Article 78 of the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community, Article 206 of the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community and Article 180 of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, as amended by the Treaty amending certain financial provisions of the Treaties establishing the European Communities and of the Treaty establishing a single Council and a single Commission of the European Communities, provide that "the members of the Court of Auditors shall be appointed for a term of six years by the Council, acting unanimously after consulting the Assembly".

Article 30 of the same Treaty provides that "this Treaty shall enter into force on the first day of the month following the deposit of the instrument of ratification by the last signatory State to take this step".

In accordance with this provision, the Treaty entered into force on 1 June 1977.

The members of the Court should therefore now be appointed in order to enable the Court to begin operating as quickly as possible.

The Council has accordingly decided to consult Parliament on the appointment of the members of the Court, and I enclose the list of candidates proposed.

In view of the circumstances referred to above, the Council would be grateful if the Parliament could deliver its Opinion during the present part-session.

Please accept, Sir, the assurance of my highest consideration.

H. SIMONET

.

LIST OF CANDIDATES

.

nominated as members of the Court of Auditors

<u>Belgium</u> :	Mr P aul GÄUDY
Denmark:	Mr Arne K. JOHANSEN
<u>Germany</u> :	Mr Albert LEICHT
France:	Mr Pierre LELONG
<u>Italy</u> :	Mr Aldo ANGIOI
Ireland:	Mr Michael N. MURPHY
Luxembourg:	Mr Marcel MART
Netherlands:	Mr A.J. MIDDELHOEK
United Kingdom:	Sir Norman PRICE

.

.

.