



Newsletter No. 10 - EN

November 1994

Indicative financial allocation for Rechar, Resider and Retex

On 12 October, the Commission designated the areas eligible for the Community Initiatives Rechar and Resider as well as the indicative financial allocation among the Member States for these two Initiatives and Retex (see table below).

Brief reminder: the Community Initiatives are special instruments of the structural policy of the Community that the Commission proposes to the Member States for dealing with problems with a Community dimension.

The Rechar Initiative is devoted to the conversion of coal-mining areas, Resider to the conversion of iron and steel areas and Retex to the diversification of areas highly dependent on the textile and clothing industries.

The lists of areas eligible for Rechar and Resider were drawn up by the Commission on the basis of proposals from the Member States, taking into account the criteria of eligibility set out in the guidelines published by the Commission. They are to be found in the Official Journal.

In the case of Retex, on the other hand, the Commission has not drawn up lists of eligible areas because in this case the task was simply to allocate an additional ECU 94.6 million among the new areas which became eligible under Objectives 1, 2 and 5b in January 1994.

With regard to Rechar and Resider, the financial allocation between Member States has been made on the basis of the number of jobs lost or at risk in the eligible areas in relation to Community totals. In respect of Retex, the allocation has been calculated on the basis of the levels of employment in textiles and clothing in the areas dependent on this sector.

Since the indicative distribution for nine other Initiatives has already been made (see Inforegio News No. 7), it only remains to decide the eligible areas and the financial allocation for the Konver Initiative (diversification of areas dependent on the defence sector).

Country	Rechar		Resider		Retex	
	in million ECU	%	in million ECU	%	in million ECU	%
В	15.6	3.9	24.4	4.9	3.4	3.6
D	158.7	39.7	190.5	38.1	60.2	63.6
GR	1.5	0.4	4.6	0.9		
E	27.3	6.8	58.8	11.7	0.8	0.8
F	33.2	8.3	61.6	12.3	9.3	9.8
ı	1.7	0.4	84.1	16.8	18.1	19.2
L			6.9	1.4		
NL			17.4	3.5		
P	0.9	0.2	6.9	1.4		
UK	161.1	40.3	44.8	9.0	2.8	2.9
TOTAL	400.0	100.0	500.0	100.0	94.6	100.0

First analysis of the programming for Objective 1

At the meeting of the European Parliament's Regional Committee held on 12 October, Mr Landaburu, the Director-General responsible for regional policies at the Commission, presented a first analysis of the 1994-99 programming of Structural Fund assistance to the Community regions lagging behind in their development (Objective 1).

For all these regions together, the programming already approved mobilizes ECU 94 billion in Community assistance, accounting for two thirds of the budget envelope planned for the Structural Funds during the current programming period. The Community contribution is of

significant dimensions in macroeconomic terms since it will involve financial transfers representing up to 2.1% of annual GDP in Ireland and Spain, 3.2% in Portugal and 3.4% in Greece.

This programming of funds, the result of negotiations with the Member States and regions on the basis of their own proposals, has been translated into concrete form by the Commission with the approval of six Community support frameworks (which still require operational programmes to implement them on the ground) and eleven single programming documents (which can be directly implemented but cover more limited areas).

First decisions under Objective 5b (vulnerable rural areas)

On 5 and 18 October, the Commission adopted in principle the single programming documents for 23 areas eligible under Objective 5b. In order to be finally approved, these documents still have to be submitted to the STAR Committee (Management Committee for agricultural structures and rural development) and the ESF Committee (European Social Fund).

Together these 23 future development programmes cover an investment volume of almost ECU 6 750 million, of which ECU 1 930 million will be provided by the Structural Funds.

The areas concerned are located in the following regions:

- Navarra, Rioja (Spain)
- Alsace, Aquitaine, Auvergne, Lower Normandy, Burgundy, Brittany, Centre, Champagne-Ardenne, Franche-Comté, Limousin, Lorraine, Upper Normandy, Pays de la Loire, Poitou-Charentes, Provence-Alps-Côte d'Azur (France)
- Provinces of Trento and Bolzano, Valle d'Aosta (Italy)
- The whole of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
- Friesland (Netherlands)
- East Anglia (United Kingdom).

In Brief

Peripheral and maritime regions

The Conference of Peripheral and Maritime Regions held its annual general meeting in Cagliari, Italy, from 18 to 21 October. The Conference has been in existence since 1973 and currently comprises more than 70 regions and territorial units belonging to nine Member States and three applicant countries.

Creation of economic activities

Held within the framework of the Annual Conference of French Chambers of Commerce and Industry, a European Forum on the creation of economic activities brought together representatives of more than 500 local initiative groups in Lille on 13 and 14 October.



European Commission Directorate-General for Regional Policies

Vol. 10 CX-AB-94-010-EN-C