European Communities

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

Working Documents

1983-1984

5 October 1983

DCOUMENT 1-790/83

Report

drawn up on behalf of the Committee on Budgetary Control

embodying the opinion of the European Parliament on the appointment of six members of the Court of Auditors of the European Communities (Doc. 1-762/83)

Rapporteur: Mr H. AIGNER

By letter of 20 September 1983 the Council consulted the European Parliament on the appointment of six members of the Court of Auditors pursuant to Article 78(e)(4) of the ECSC, Article 206(4) of the EEC, Article 180(4) of the EAEC Ireaties.

This was referred to the Committee on Budgetary Control.

At its meeting of 29 September 1983 the Committee on Budgetary Control, pursuant to Rule 51 of Parliament's Rules of Procedure, considered a draft report tabled by Mr Aigner, Chairman of the Committee, and adopted it unanimously.

Participated in the vote: Mr Aigner, chairman and rapporteur; Mrs Boserup, vice-chairman; Mr Alber (deputizing for Mr Früh); Mr Arndt (deputizing for Mr Gabert); Mr Jürgens; Mr Kellett-Bowman, Mr Mart, Mr Notenboom, Mr Saby, Mr Konrad Schon and Mr Wettig.

The report was deposited on 30 September 1983.

CONTENTS

			Page
Α.	MOTION FOR A RESOLUTION	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	5
в.	EXPLANATORY STATEMENT .		6

The Committee on Budgetary Control hereby submits to the European Parliament the following motion for a resolution, together with explanatory statement:

MOTION FOR A RESOLUTION

embodying the opinion of the European Parliament on the appointment of six members of the Court of Auditors of the European Communities

The European Parliament,

- a) having regard to Article 78(e)(4) of the ECSC Treaty,
- b) having regard to Article 206(4) of the EEC Treaty,
- c) having regard to Article 180(4) of the EAEC Treaty,
- d) having been consulted by the Council by letter of 20 September 1983 (Doc. 1-762/83),
- e) having regard to the report of the Committee on Budgetary Control (Doc. 1-790/83),
- 1. Endorses the Council's proposal that Mr Carey, Mr Haase, Mr Lelong, Mr Mart, Mr Middelhoek and Mr Vallas be appointed as members of the Court of Auditors and, therefore, decides together with the Council to appoint them accordingly;
- 2. Deplores the fact that Parliament had relatively little time to deliberate on these candidatures because of the failure of the Council to communicate the relevant particulars in good time, a lapse which risked causing delay in these appointments, which are of major interest in the context of EC budgetary control;
- 3. Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Council and the Court of Auditors and to transmit it for information to the other institutions.

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Consultation of Parliament on appointment of members of the Court of Auditors

1. Rule 51 of the Rules of Procedure of the European Parliament provides as follows:

'Before the appointment of Members of the Court of Auditors by the Council pursuant to Article 206(4) of the EEC Treaty, Parliament shall adopt an opinion on this matter on the basis of a motion for a resolution tabled by the appropriate committee.'

The present candidates

- 2. Document 1-762/83 contains particulars of the careers of the candidates who are proposed by Council. The Committee on Budgetary Control at its meeting on 29 September 1983 discussed the various relevant matters with the candidates. It is the unanimous view of the Committee on Budgetary Control that, having regard to their experience, professional training and academic background, they are suitable candidates for the Court of Auditors.
- 3. The Committee insisted that it was essential that the Members of the Court of Auditors should reside full time in Luxembourg, which is the seat of the institution. The Committee recognises the essential role that the Court of Auditors could render to democratic control of Community expenditure especially if there are good relations with the national Courts of Auditors, which would enable sound cooperation. The Committee noted the fact that three new members were to enter the Court of Auditors.

This represents an injection of new ideas with a considerable degree of continuity of the existing membership. Finally, the Committee noted the provisions of the Treaty concerning the Members of the Court of Auditors. Their independence must be beyond doubt. They shall refrain from any action incompatible with their duties and they may not, during their term of office, engage in any other occupation whether gainful or not, (Article 206(6) of the EEC Treaty).

Late transmission by the Council

4. The Committee noted that the particulars of the candidatures were transmitted to Parliament at a very late stage, despite the views expressed in Doc. 1-1125/82. This late transmission allowed relatively little time for an in-depth discussion with the candidates and was not in harmony with the spirit of good interinstitutional working arrangements for dealing with serious Community issues.

Retiring members

5. The Committee expressed its appreciation of the work done by the retiring members of the Court of Auditors: Mr Albert Leicht, Mr Georges Vitalis and Sir Norman Price.

⁽¹⁾ OJ C 42, 14.2.1983 p.103