## THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITY

## PRESS RELEASE

EUROPEAN ECONOMIC COMMUNITY . EUROPEAN COAL AND STEEL COMMUNITY . EUROPEAN ATOMIC ENERGY COMMUNITY

Information Service Washington Office: Suite 808, The Farragut Building, Washington DC, 20006 • Telephone: 296-5131, Area Code 202 • Cable: EUROCOM • Telex: WN-065

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

1945(1)

SIX SIGN TREATY TO MERGE COMMUNITY EXECUTIVES AND COUNCILS

WASHINGTON, D.C., April 9 -- The Six signed yesterday in Brussels a treaty creating a single Council of Ministers and Commission for the three European Communities -- the European Economic Community, the European Coal and Steel Community, and the European Atomic Energy Community.

The signing took place at a conference of the government representatives of Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

The treaty, a prologue to the fusion of the three Communities, provides for the merger of the EEC and Euratom Commissions and the ECSC High Authority. The Councils of Ministers, previously three separate entities, will become a single body to decide policies for the three Communities.

EEC Commission President Walter Hallstein hailed the agreement as a 'political gain' for the three Communities. "It is an extraordinary and moving privilege for the Commission to witness an act leading to its own obsequies," he said. "However, the Commission exercises this privilege because it believes in the resurrection.

"The economic integration of the three Communities is an important part of the political integration of Europe. The reorganization to be caused by the fusion is just one advantage of this integration. The gain is, above all, political. From now on, the three Communities will have common institutions . . . Technically, a single executive will make the differences between the Treaties of the three Communities less important."

The treaty deals with three aspects of the fusion -- the constitution of the Council and the Commission, the single administration of the Communities, and a single budget.

The powers and competences conferred on the original institutions by the Paris and Rome Treaties are not modified by the agreement but merely concentrated in a single executive and a single decision-making body. The Permanent Representatives of the six member states, a working group which prepares the activities of the Common Market and Euratom Councils of

Ministers, will be responsible for coal and steel matters previously handled by the ECSC Coordinating Committee.

The Commission will permanently consist of nine members after the merger of the three Communities' Treaties or three years following the ratification of the executive fusion agreement by the member state governments, whichever occurs first. Until that time, fourteen members will compose the single Commission.

A common budget will be established for the three Communities. However, the financial lending operations of the ECSC and the Euratom research and investment budgets will be administered separately. The new financial arrangement retains the ECSC practice of a levy on the production of coal and steel, which will provide \$18 million annually for the Communities' operations.

The Commission, the European Parliament and the Council of Ministers will become the budgetary authority for the three Communities and a single budgetary committee will be created to supervise the financial activities.

The Commission will be responsible to the Parliament which can force its resignation by a motion of censure.

The representatives of the member state governments also adopted and signed decisions relating to the provisional location of certain institutions and services of the Communities. The decisions will become effective with the ratification of the executive fusion agreement. The EEC and Euratom Councils of Ministers agreed March 3 to locate the single executive in Brussels and to move various judicial and monetary agencies to Luxembourg.

The representatives of the member states gave the single Commission a mandate to use all necessary measures to reorganize its services within a year and to report its progress periodically to the unified Council. A new protocol outlining the privileges and immunities of the Communities was annexed to the executive fusion treaty.