## **European Communities**

### **EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT**

# Working Documents

1982-1983

12 January 1983

DOCUMENT 1-1147/82

#### MOTION FOR A RESOLUTION

tabled by Mrs BOOT, Mr POTTERING, Mr I. FRIEDRICH,
Mr O'DONNELL, Mr CLINTON, Mr VERROKEN, Mr KAZAZIS,
Mr COSTANZO, Mr TRAVAGLINI, Mr GIOMMARRA and Mr CHANTERIE
on behalf of the Group of the European People's Party,
Mr VON DER VRING, on behalf of the Socialist Group,
Mr CECOVINI, on behalf of the Liberal and Democratic
Group, Mrs EWING, on behalf of the Group of European
Progressive Democrats,
and Mr DE PASQUALE, Mr LANGE, Mr KYRKOS and Mr EISMA
with request for an early vote pursuant to Rule 42(5)
of the Rules of Procedure closing the debate on oral
question No. 1-1048/82

on reaching a decision in the Council on the review of the ERDF regulation

### The European Parliament,

- whereas Article 22 of Council Regulation (EEC) No. 724/75 of 18 March 1975 establishing a European Fund for Regional Development, as most recently modified by Regulation (EEC) No. 3325/80, stipulates that the Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, should review this regulation by 1 January 1987
- having regard to the proposal from the Commission of the European Communities to the Council (COM(81) 589 fin.);
- having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament of 22 April 1982;
- having regard to the position of the European Commission on the amendment proposed by Parliament (COM(82) 572 fin.);
- 1. Urges the Council of the European Communities to break the present deadlock over a decision on the third revision of the ERDF regulation;
- 2. Requests the Council to submit its 'joint guidelines' to Parliament at the earliest opportunity and not later than by 1 May 1983;
- 3. Looks to the Council to do everything possible to adopt the new ERDF regulation (ERDF 3) by 30 June 1983; in this connection, Parliament expects the interests of the Community to prevail over those of the individual Member States:
- 4. Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Council of Ministers of the European Communities.