EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

Working Documents

1982 - 1983

14 JUNE 1982

DOCUMENT 1-359/.

MOTION FOR A RESOLUTION

tabled by Mr DENIS, Mr FERRERO, Mr VERGÈS,
Mr EPHREMIDIS, Mr KYRKOS and Mrs BOSERUP on behalf
of the Communist and Allies Group

with a request for urgent debate

pursuant to Rule 48 of the Rules of Procedure

on the SENTENCING TO DEATH OF THREE MEMBERS OF
THE AFRICAN NATIONAL CONGRESS (ANC) AND THE DEATH
IN PRISON OF NEIL AGGETT, TRADE UNION LEADER,
AND ON ACTS OF IMPRISONMENT CONTRARY TO THE
CHARTER OF THE UNITED NATIONS

The European Parliament,

- A. deeply concerned by the threat of hanging facing three young blacks, N. Lubisi, P. Moshigo and N. Manassa after their appeal was dismissed by the Bloemfontein Court,
- B. noting that death sentences are increasing in South Africa, where 296 people were executed in 1981 under the 'special laws',
- C. noting the extreme gravity of the infringements of the rights of the accused, as shown by the proceedings commenced recently against Ministers M. Phasewane and P.M. Phosiwa,
- D. concerned at the fate of all those affected by the General Laws Amendment Act, which prohibits any contact whatsoever with other people,
- E. concerned by the information supplied by his lawyer as to the circumstances surrounding the death as a result of torture of Neil Aggett, a young white doctor and general secretary of the trade union of workers in the food industry,
- Condemns the South African Government for its policy of apartheid, for its crimes and for the repeated violations of human rights of which it is guilty;
- Condemns its acts of imprisonment without any form of trial,
 which are contrary to the Charter of the United Nations;
- 3. Requests the Member States to comply without delay with the decisions taken in the resolution of the ACP - EEC Joint Committee in Salisbury concerning sanctions against South Africa;
- 4. Asks that the lives of N. Lubisi, P. Moshigo and N. Manassa be saved;
- 5. Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Council and Commission of the European Communities and to the governments of the Member States and the Government of South Africa.