EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

Working Documents

1982-1983

17 JUNE 1982

DOCUMENT 1-378 82

MOTION FOR A RESOLUTION

TABLED BY Mr MARCK, Mr PAPAPIETRO, Mr HAHN, Mr GEROKOSTOPOULOS, Mr VANDEMEULEBROUCKE, Mrs PERY, Mr TOLMAN, Mr RIPA DI MEANA, Mr ISRAEL, Mr PELIKAN, Mr VAN ROMPUY, Mr VANDEWIELE, Mr SCHWENCKE, Mr ABENS, Mr ARFE AND Mr LEZZI

pursuant to Rule 47 or the Rules of Procedure

on the European Poetry Festival, the Library of Poetry and the Centre for Research, Documentation and Translation

PE 79.482

The European Parliament,

- A aware of the important role which lieterature, and more particularly poetry, can play as a link between peoples;
- B whereas cooperation in the field of cultural activities helps to create greater understanding between the citizens of the Member States of the Community;
- C noting that to date little has been done in this area at Community level in the Member States, which has deprived writers of the opportunity to meet each other, to have their works published in the languages. of the Community and to cooperate in matters of common interest;
- D whereas the future of the European union will depend to a large extent on the generous cooperation of artists;
- E stressing that official sponsorship by the Council is necessary to guarantee the continuity of the European Poetry Festival and the future of the European Library of Poetry and of the Centre for Research, Documentation and Translation, which are established in Louvain;
- I. Invites the Council to give its total support to the Festival and its organs.
- Also invites the Commission to give its support with a view to ensuring the continuity of the European Poetry Festival and of the Library and the Centre;
- 3. Invites the committee responsible to liaise with the European Association for the Promotion of Poetry and to keep itself informed of progress made by the Festival and its organs;
- 4. Instructs its President to forward this resolution to the Council, the Commission of the European Communities and the responsible Ministers in the Member States.