## PRESS RELEASE

Brussels, 31 October 2001 13447/01 (Presse 400) P 173/01

Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union,

the Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union,

the associated countries Cyprus and Malta

and EFTA countries, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area,

concerning restrictive measures against the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

The Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, the associated countries Cyprus and Malta, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, declare that they share the objectives of common position 2001/719/PESC defined by the Council of the European Union on 8 October 2001 on the basis of Article 15 of the Treaty on European Union concerning restrictive measures against the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. They will ensure that their national policies conform to that common position.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Internet: http://ue.eu.int/Newsroom E-mail: press.office@consilium.eu.int

EN