



WARSS RELEASE

Brussels, 18 May 2001 8856/01 (Presse 192) P 98/01

Declaration by the European Union and the Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, and Slovenia, the associated countries Cyprus, Malta and Turkey, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, on the promulgation of a Constitutional Framework for Provisional Self-Government in Kosovo and the announcement of Kosovo-wide elections

The Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania and Slovenia, the associated countries Cyprus, Malta and Turkey, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, declare that they align themselves with the declaration by the European Union on the promulgation of a Constitutional Framework for Provisional Self-Government in Kosovo and the announcement of Kosovo-wide elections, published in Brussels and Stockholm, 16 May 2001.

The European Union takes note of their alignment and welcomes it.

Internet: http://ue.eu.int/Newsroom E-mail: press.office@consilium.eu.int