

10852/99 (Presse 268) P. 90/99

Declaration by the European Union and the associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the associated countries Cyprus and Malta and Iceland and Norway, EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area on contribution to the promotion of the early entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT)

The associated countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the associated countries Cyprus and Malta and Iceland and Norway, EFTA countries members of the EEA, declare that they share the objectives of the Common Position adopted by the Council of the European Union on 29 July 1999 on the basis of Article 15 of the Treaty on European Union, relating to the European Union's contribution to the promotion of the early entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT). They will ensure that their national policies conform to that Common Position.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

