

Brussels, 10 February 1999

5877/99 (Presse 33) P 10/99

Declaration by the European Union,
the Central and Eastern European countries
and Cyprus associated with the European Union
and EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein,
members of the European Economic Area
concerning Afghanistan

The Central and Eastern European countries and Cyprus associated with the European Union and EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, declare that they share the objectives of the new Common Position defined by the Council of the European Union on 25 January 1999 on the basis of Article J.2 of the Treaty on European Union concerning Afghanistan.

The European Union takes note of these opinions and welcomes them.