



Brussels, 11 May 1998

8361/98 (Presse 140) P. 38/98

Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union,

Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania,

Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia

concerning the freezing of funds held abroad

by the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY)

and Serbian Governments

Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia declare that they support the objectives of the Common Position defined by the Council on the basis of Article J.2 of the Treaty on European Union concerning the freezing of funds held abroad by the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY) and Serbian Governments.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.