





PRESS RELEASE

Brussels, 16 September 1998

10979/98 (Presse 297) P 105/98

Declaration by the European Union and Bulgaria,
Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania,
Slovenia and Iceland and Norway
on the common position concerning a ban on flights
of Yugoslav carriers between the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
and the European Community

Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Latvia, Lituania, Poland, Romania, Slovenia and Iceland and Norway declare that they share the objectives of the common position defined by the Council of the European Union on 29 June 1998 on the basis of Article J.2 of the Treaty on European Union, concerning a ban on flights of Yugoslav carriers between the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and the European Community. They will ensure that their national policies conform to that common position.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

10979/98 (Presse 297 - G)