European Community

441.2(ro3)

No. 19/86 June 10, 1986

Contact: Ella Krucoff (202) 862-9540

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT DELEGATION TO VISIT WASHINGTON, SANTA FE

A European Parliament delegation will discuss political and economic issues with members of the U.S. Congress during a June 16-23 visit to Washington, D.C., and Santa Fe, N.M.

The Parliamentarians will also see Secretary of State George Shultz, U.S. Trade Representative Clayton Yeutter, Federal Reserve Board Chairman Paul Volcker, World Bank President A.W. Clausen and International Monetary Fund President Jacques de Larosière.

This will be the 27th meeting between members of Congress and the European Parliament Delegation for Relations with the United States under a program that began in 1972. The program is designed to give participants a better understanding of how major issues are viewed on opposite sides of the Atlantic, and an opportunity to investigate possibilities for compromise and cooperation in areas where differences exist.

The European delegation, headed by Piet Dankert, a Dutch Socialist and former President of the European Parliament, will meet June 19 with members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and other Senators interested in U.S.-European relations. The meetings with U.S. Administration officials will take place June 17-19.

../..

A U.S. House of Representatives delegation, headed by Tom Lantos (D-Calif.) and Benjamin Gilman (R-N.Y.), will attend three days of meetings with the Parliamentarians at Santa Fe. The June 20-22 sessions will focus on security issues; narcotics, terrorism and human rights; trade and economic issues; agriculture; and Central America.

Members of the European Parliament delegation will meet with journalists at a press breakfast at 8 a.m. Friday, June 20, at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel, 2100 Massachusetts Ave. N.W., in Washington. (Reservations preferred. For more information, call Ella Krucoff at 862-9540.)

The 518-member European Parliament is elected by citizens of the European Community's 12 member states. The delegation visiting the United States includes Parliamentarians from 10 member states, representing all of the Parliament's political groups: Socialist Group, Group of the European People's Party (P.P.E.), European Democratic Group (E.D.), Communist Group, Liberal and Democratic Reformist Group (L.D.R.), Group of the European Democratic Alliance (R.D.E.), Rainbow Group (ARC), Group of the European Right (D.R.).

Participants include Michael Welsh (United Kingdom, E.D.), Chairman of the Social Affairs Committee, and Ernest Glinne (Belgium, Socialist), former Chairman of the Socialist Group and a member of the Parliament's College of Questors.

The delegation's Vice-Chairmen are Vincenzo Giummarra (Italy, P.P.E.) and René Piquet (France, Communist).

../..

Other participants are:

Enrique Baron Crespo (Spain, Socialist) Lord Bethell (United Kingdom, E.D.) Erik Blumenfeld (Germany, P.P.E.) Elmar Brok (Germany, P.P.E.) Sir Fred Catherwood (United Kingdom, E.D.) Mark Clinton (Ireland, P.P.E.) Isidor Früh (Germany, P.P.E.) Vasco Garcia (Portugal, L.D.R.) Fritz Gautier (Germany, Socialist) Jas Gawronski (Italy, L.D.R.) Benedikt Härlin (Germany, ARC) Magdalene Hoff (Germany, Socialist) Stephen Hughes (United Kingdom, Socialist) José Maria Lafuente Lopez (Spain, E.D.) Leonidas Lagakos (Greece, Socialist) Jean-Marie Le Chevallier (France, D.R.) Ray MacSharry (Ireland, R.D.E.) António José Marques Mendes (Portugal, R.D.E.) Didier Motchane (France, Socialist) Jean Penders (Netherlands, P.P.E.) Christiane Scrivener (France, L.D.R.) Sergio Segre (Italy, Communist) Ioannis Tzounis (Greece, P.P.E.) Mario Zagari (Italy, Socialist)

The delegation will be accompanied by Simone Veil (France, Chairman of the L.D.R. Group), former President of the European Parliament; Giovanni Cervetti (Italy, Chairman of the Communist Group) and Jean-Marie Le Pen (France, Chairman of the D.R. Group).

NOTE: <u>Piet Dankert, Chairman of the European Parliament Delegation for</u> <u>Relations with the United States, will address a Newsmaker Breakfast at the</u> <u>National Press Club at 9 a.m. Thursday, June 19. His topic will be</u> terrorism.